Fiction Writers Retreat


**2016 Participants report: "Inspiring, exhilarating, successful, rejuvenating, fabulous, learned a great deal, and more."  

2017 Fiction Writers Retreat is coming!

Mark June 17, 2017 on your calendar.

Check back here for updates and new bios.

Thank you.



2017 Fiction Writers Retreat

June 17, 2017    (8am-5pm)

Tom Steed Center at Rose State University

Midwest City, Oklahoma

Saturday Sign-In: 8:00-8:30 a.m.


About the Fiction Writers Retreat

The Fiction Writers Retreat is an event where fiction writers can network and hone their craft. The Retreat features guest speakers who are mentoring professionals. Highly-successful and award-winning authors, Mel Odom and Marcia Preston, will present in-depth sessions on the craft of writing short and long fiction. Some registrants may have the first five pages of their novel and a synopsis reviewed prior to the event, at no additional charge, and meet one-on-one with Odom or Preston for ten minutes to really focus on their novels and individual writing issues.

Fee for the Retreat is $89 and lunch is provided.

Mentoring appointments are limited to the first 25 people who register. 


2017 Guest Speakers/Mentors


Award-Winning and Best-Selling Authors

  • Author of more than 180 novels


    Photo and Bio coming soon.

  •  A don't-miss opportunity to hone your craft with two of the finest writers who not only write well but share how they do it - one novel after another!

  • Award-Winning Novelist


    Photo and Bio coming soon.






Lunch is included



Te register for 2017 

Reserve your spot today!

Registration is easy. Download, print and complete the registration form below. Send the completed form with your payment to Fiction Writers Retreat, PO Box 467, Holdenville, OK 74848. 

Download the Registration Form





No writing contest is associated with Fiction Writers Retreat, but if you like to enter contests, check out for the Art Affair Annual Literary Contests.

Click here for FAQs about Fiction Writers Retreat, hosted by Kathy Akins, Nita Beshear, and Barbara Shepherd.